Federal prosecutors allege that Pennsylvania durable-medical-equipment supplier ND Medical Solutions generated roughly $1.3 billion in fraudulent claims during the five months Erekle Gugava purportedly owned it, yet received only about $6.5 million.
That does not mean Medicare and other insurers simply detected and rejected 99.5% of the alleged fraud.
The $1.3 billion is a claims-submission figure, not $1.3 billion stolen or even necessarily $1.3 billion approved for payment. Medicare pays most DME under regulated payment amounts rather than simply accepting suppliers’ stated charges. More importantly, the indictment says an early payment suspension prevented ND Medical from receiving substantially more. Under CMS rules, a payment suspension can stop the release of money even while claims continue processing, including claims that are otherwise payable.
The broader Operation Gold Rush case shows how large that distinction can become. CMS says the alleged network submitted about $10.6 billion in fraudulent Medicare claims and that roughly $4.45 billion was scheduled for payment. After anomalous billing was detected, CMS and HHS-OIG prevented the organization from receiving all but about $41 million of that amount, with approximately $4.41 billion held in escrow. Yet Medicare supplemental insurers paid an estimated $900 million. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
So the important question is not simply, “Where did the other $1.31 billion go?”
It is:
How far did ND Medical’s claims progress through the payment system before the money was stopped, and why did private secondary payers remain exposed after Medicare could stop its own payments?
The public record can answer much of that question—but not every dollar.
What prosecutors actually allege about ND Medical
The September 3, 2026 indictment alleges that an unnamed prior owner sold ND Medical to Gugava on or about February 18, 2025, and that Gugava purportedly owned the company until approximately July 9, 2025, when he left the United States. Prosecutors describe ND Medical as an extension of the foreign-based organization already charged in Operation Gold Rush.
The charging document gives these figures:
| Figure | What the indictment says |
|---|---|
| Claims to Medicare and Medicare supplemental insurers | ~$1,317,921,030 |
| Medicare payments to ND Medical | ~$566,882 |
| Supplemental, employer-sponsored and other insurer payments | ~$5,945,442 |
| Total payments received | ~$6,512,324 |
There is a small but important sourcing nuance. The indictment first says ND Medical submitted claims to Medicare, Medicare supplemental insurers, private employer-sponsored plans and other insurers, but its exact $1,317,921,030 figure is then stated for claims to Medicare and Medicare supplemental insurers. DOJ’s September 4 press release summarizes the case more broadly as at least $1.3 billion in claims to all of those payer categories. Because the charging document does not publish a complete payer-by-payer submitted-charge table, the $1.318 billion and $6.512 million should not be treated as a precise claims-denial fraction.
Numerically, $6.512 million is only about 0.49% of $1.318 billion. That is useful for showing the extraordinary scale of the discrepancy. It is not evidence that 99.51% of claims were denied as fraudulent.
Why $1.3 billion in claims does not mean $1.3 billion was payable
For Original Medicare, the amount a DME supplier puts on a claim is not generally the amount Medicare pays.
CMS says most DMEPOS items are paid under fee-schedule rules. For most covered items, Medicare’s payment amount is 80% of the lower of the supplier’s actual charge or the applicable fee-schedule amount, after any unmet Part B deductible. The beneficiary or supplemental coverage may be responsible for the remaining share. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
CMS’s public DME datasets therefore distinguish among submitted charges, Medicare allowed amounts and Medicare payments. An allowed amount can include Medicare’s payment, deductible and coinsurance obligations, and certain third-party amounts; Medicare payment is a separate measure. (CMS Data)
That distinction applies directly to the Medicare side of this case. It should not be stretched into a claim about how every private employer or supplemental plan priced its own claims, because the indictment does not disclose those contracts or payer-specific submitted totals.
What can be said confidently is that these are different concepts:
submitted amount ≠ Medicare allowed amount ≠ Medicare payment ≠ final financial loss
Therefore, subtracting $6.5 million from $1.318 billion and calling the remaining $1.311 billion “rejected fraud” would be wrong.
Medicare can approve a claim for payment and still withhold the money
The payment suspension is the most important fact for understanding the apparent paradox.
CMS’s current Program Integrity Manual says Medicare may suspend payments when there is a credible allegation of fraud, reliable information that an overpayment exists, or information suggesting payments may be incorrect. It expressly describes Medicare’s authority to withhold money on claims otherwise determined to be payable. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
The manual is even clearer about what happens after a suspension begins: claims continue processing. If a claim is found not payable, it is denied. For claims that are not denied, the contractor can send a remittance notice showing payment was approved while withholding the actual money. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
That makes “unpaid” and “denied” fundamentally different categories.
The Gugava indictment does not disclose how much of ND Medical’s billing was formally denied, how much was reduced under payment rules, or how much was adjudicated as payable but caught by the suspension. It says only that Medicare and Medicare supplemental insurers likely would have paid substantially more without the early suspension.
That missing breakdown is one of the largest remaining gaps in the public record.
Operation Gold Rush shows what the hidden middle can look like
Although CMS has not published an equivalent ND Medical-specific funnel, it has done so for the broader Operation Gold Rush organization.
| Operation Gold Rush stage | Approximate amount |
|---|---|
| Allegedly fraudulent Medicare claims submitted | $10.6 billion |
| Scheduled for Medicare payment | $4.45 billion |
| Ultimately held back/escrowed | $4.41 billion |
| Medicare payments that reached the organization | $41 million |
| Supplemental-insurer payments | $900 million |
These are CMS and DOJ’s aggregate figures, not findings from a completed trial. They nevertheless reveal something that the $10.6 billion headline alone does not: approximately 42% of the nominal Medicare claims had progressed far enough to be scheduled for payment. CMS and HHS-OIG then prevented roughly 99% of those scheduled Medicare dollars from reaching the organization. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
That supports two conclusions at once.
First, the payment intervention was extremely effective at stopping Medicare cash once the anomalous billing had been identified.
Second, it would be misleading to describe that result as Medicare simply rejecting 99% of the fraudulent claims at the front end. Billions of dollars had reached scheduled-payment status before the money was withheld.
The public evidence does not establish that ND Medical followed that exact percentage breakdown. It does show why an enormous submitted-claims number can coexist with a much smaller amount of cash actually released.
The biggest ND Medical surprise: most of the money did not come from Medicare
The indictment says Medicare itself paid ND Medical approximately $566,882.
It says Medicare supplemental insurers, private employer-sponsored plans and other insurers paid approximately $5,945,442.
If those alleged figures are correct, only about 8.7% of ND Medical’s $6.512 million in gross receipts came directly from Medicare, while about 91.3% came from other payers.
That is more revealing than the headline $1.3 billion figure.
The broader Gold Rush case had the same disproportion on a much larger scale: prosecutors alleged that Medicare paid the scheme companies about $41 million while Medicare supplemental insurers paid an estimated $900 million.
The evidence therefore points to a major cross-payer vulnerability: stopping Medicare’s own money did not automatically stop money flowing from secondary insurers.
Why could secondary insurers still pay after Medicare stopped its own payments?
CMS operates a claims-crossover system so participating insurers can receive Medicare claims data and process supplemental benefits. Under the Coordination of Benefits Agreement system, trading partners provide eligibility information and receive Medicare claims data through CMS’s national crossover contractor. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
That establishes the general payment architecture.
The more consequential claim comes from the prosecution. The Gugava indictment states that, for the DME claims at issue, Medicare supplemental insurers were contractually obligated to reimburse claims that Medicare had processed even when Medicare subsequently suspended its own payment. That statement appears in the indictment; sherafy.com did not locate a public insurer contract establishing that it applied identically to every supplemental plan in the market.
The original Gold Rush indictment goes further. Prosecutors allege that, as CMS became aware of the scheme and began suspending Medicare payments, the scheme companies relied on Medicare’s contractual arrangements with supplemental insurers to continue profiting. The indictment describes paper checks being collected at company addresses and their proceeds being moved through financial accounts.
Those remain prosecution allegations. But the alleged mechanism is consistent with the otherwise striking payment pattern: Medicare released about $41 million in the broader operation while supplemental insurers paid roughly $900 million.
What remains unresolved is why the secondary payers were not stopped sooner—including when particular insurers were notified, what information they received, and whether the contractual crossover system prevented them from acting immediately.
A congressional analysis found another anomaly—and its wording needs care
A February 2026 House Energy and Commerce hearing provides evidence from outside the prosecution.
Stephen Nuckolls, testifying on behalf of the National Association of ACOs, presented an analysis using Medicare Parts A and B data available through CMS’s Virtual Research Data Center. NAACOS said ND Medical “only billed these codes starting in Q4 2024” and reported a total of $964 million across the selected codes. Its written testimony similarly described ND Medical as having billed $964 million beginning in Q4 2024.
That $964 million number should not be described as $964 million Medicare approved for payment.
The NAACOS source itself mixes two different measures. Its overview labels the $964 million as billed, while the code-specific charts beneath it are explicitly titled “Medicare Allowed Amounts.” Those charts show very large ND Medical allowed-amount spikes in early 2025 for wound dressings and several orthotic codes, but they do not establish that the entire $964 million was an allowed amount.
NAACOS also explicitly warns that anomalous spending patterns do not by themselves prove fraud. And it is not a financially disinterested observer: accountable care organizations can bear financial consequences when attributed Medicare spending exceeds benchmarks, a concern the testimony discusses at length.
The useful conclusion is narrower:
NAACOS’s analysis of restricted CMS claims data independently found large, unusual ND Medical billing concentrations, while separate charts showed substantial Medicare allowed amounts associated with ND Medical in early 2025.
That is strong corroborating evidence of unusual claims activity. It is not an independent adjudication that those particular claims were fraudulent.
The timeline begins before prosecutors say Gugava acquired ND Medical
The NAACOS data also creates an important unanswered question.
CMS’s NPI registry shows that ND Medical’s NPI was first enumerated on May 7, 2024. The record was updated and certified on February 18, 2025, when Erekle Gugava appears as president and authorized official. CMS cautions that issuance of an NPI does not itself establish licensing or credentialing. (NPI Registry)
February 18 is also the date on which prosecutors allege ND Medical’s prior owner sold the company to Gugava.
Yet NAACOS says ND Medical began billing the selected codes in Q4 2024, months before that alleged transfer.
That is not necessarily a contradiction. The Gugava indictment does not claim ND Medical had no billing before February 18, and the $1.318 billion allegation is tied to Gugava’s purported ownership period.
But the earlier activity raises a legitimate question that current coverage largely leaves unanswered:
Who was responsible for ND Medical’s Q4 2024 selected-code billing, and was it connected to the later alleged Gold Rush activity?
The public evidence reviewed for this article does not establish the answer. It would be improper to infer that Gugava controlled the company before the alleged sale, or to accuse ND Medical’s prior owner of participating in the alleged conspiracy, without additional evidence.
How could one equipment company generate claims on this scale?
The broader Gold Rush indictment alleges an industrialized billing operation rather than a single ordinary equipment shop somehow fulfilling billions of dollars in physical orders.
Prosecutors allege the organization bought dozens of existing DME companies from prior legitimate owners that already had the ability to submit Medicare claims, installed nominee owners, and created records that disguised the organization’s actual control. (Department of Justice)
The indictment further alleges that the organization used provider NPIs without the providers’ knowledge, billed under beneficiaries’ identities without contacting them, and submitted claims for equipment that generally was not sent. It says Medicare and its contractors received more than 400,000 beneficiary complaints relating to scheme companies.
The new Gugava indictment contains similar allegations specific to ND Medical: numerous beneficiaries allegedly complained after their benefit statements showed equipment they had not requested or received, supposedly prescribed by doctors they had never visited.
There is some independent provider-side corroboration. Medical Clinic of Houston says it received reports of patient Medicare benefit statements containing ND Medical charges for items supposedly ordered by one of its physicians when, according to the clinic, the physician had not ordered them. That does not prove the wider conspiracy, but it is independently consistent with the type of misuse prosecutors describe. (Medical Clinic of Houston)
The alleged model therefore does not require believing that one warehouse physically handled $1.3 billion of real medical equipment. Prosecutors allege ND Medical operated as one billing vehicle inside a much larger centralized fraud and money-laundering network.
What is Erekle Gugava actually charged with?
Gugava is not currently charged in this indictment with a substantive $1.3 billion health-care-fraud count.
The September 3 indictment contains one count of conspiracy to commit money laundering under 18 U.S.C. § 1956(h). It alleges that between approximately February 18 and July 9, 2025, he conspired to conduct financial transactions involving criminally derived funds from health-care fraud.
Among the overt conduct described by prosecutors, the indictment alleges that Gugava deposited $76,558.37 in checks from supplemental insurers on July 3 and, on July 7, wired or caused the wiring of $71,363.20 from an ND Medical account to a bank account in Hong Kong.
Those allegations have not been proven. DOJ states that Gugava is presumed innocent unless and until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. (Department of Justice)
That distinction matters because a headline saying “Gugava stole $1.3 billion” would misstate both the money and the charge.
Was ND Medical still receiving insurer money after Operation Gold Rush became public?
The chronology is noteworthy but does not support the strongest version of that claim.
Operation Gold Rush was publicly announced on June 30, 2025. The Gugava indictment alleges that ND Medical deposited supplemental-insurer checks totaling $76,558.37 on July 3, followed by the alleged Hong Kong wire on July 7. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
That does not establish that the insurers knowingly issued new payments after being warned specifically about ND Medical. The public June 2025 Gold Rush indictment did not identify ND Medical in the passages reviewed here, and the Gugava indictment tells us when checks were deposited—not when their claims were adjudicated, when the checks were mailed, or when the payers learned ND Medical was under suspicion.
The defensible conclusion is simply that ND Medical was allegedly still depositing supplemental-insurer checks days after the broader Gold Rush takedown became public.
Anything stronger requires insurer notification and payment-timing records that are not yet public.
Was $6.5 million the actual loss?
Not necessarily.
The approximately $6.512 million is best understood as gross payments prosecutors say ND Medical received during the period described in the indictment.
Gross receipts and final loss are not the same thing. Funds can later be frozen, returned, reversed, seized or recouped. The indictment describes specific deposits and transfers, but it does not say that every dollar of the $6.512 million successfully left the United States or became an unrecoverable loss.
For the broader Gold Rush operation, CMS said law enforcement had seized approximately $27.7 million in fraud proceeds as of the June 30, 2025 takedown. That is an operation-wide figure and cannot be assigned to ND Medical. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
The ND Medical-specific final net loss is therefore not established in the public materials reviewed for this article.
So what happened to the other $1.31 billion?
There is no single defensible answer yet.
The public record establishes an enormous difference between claimed amounts and released cash. It also establishes several mechanisms capable of producing that difference: Medicare payment rules reduce supplier charges to regulated payment amounts; claims can be denied; and an administrative payment suspension can withhold money from claims that continue through processing.
But CMS and DOJ have not publicly provided an ND Medical-specific reconciliation showing the exact amount that was:
submitted → allowed → scheduled → denied → suspended → released → recouped.
That matters because each number answers a different question.
The normal public CMS DME supplier dataset cannot yet fill the gap. CMS’s latest public supplier data currently cover 2024, while the period at the center of the Gugava indictment is primarily in 2025. The dataset itself contains utilization, payments and submitted-charge information organized by supplier NPI, but the critical 2025 public release is not yet available. (CMS Data)
Until CMS, DOJ, the insurers or subsequent court records disclose the missing figures, any article claiming to know exactly what happened to all $1.31 billion would be pretending to know more than the evidence shows.
Bottom line
The $1.3 billion figure in the ND Medical case is dramatic, but it is easy to misunderstand.
Prosecutors do not allege that ND Medical received or stole $1.3 billion. They allege roughly $1.3 billion in claims and approximately $6.5 million in payments.
The approximately 99.5% difference is not a demonstrated claim-rejection rate. Medicare’s own rules distinguish submitted charges, allowed amounts, approved claims, suspended payments and actual payments.
The broader Gold Rush data shows that the government’s payment suspension was highly effective at stopping scheduled Medicare dollars after anomalous billing was detected. About $4.45 billion had been scheduled for Medicare payment, while only about $41 million ultimately reached the organization, according to CMS. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
And the largest apparent weakness was outside Medicare’s own cash flow. Roughly 91% of the money prosecutors say ND Medical received came from supplemental, employer-sponsored or other insurers rather than directly from Medicare. In the broader Gold Rush operation, supplemental insurers allegedly paid about $900 million even as Medicare held back billions.
The evidence therefore supports a more interesting conclusion than either “$1.3 billion was stolen” or “Medicare rejected 99.5% of the fraud”:
The alleged scheme was capable of generating enormous claims and pushing substantial activity deep into the Medicare adjudication system. Once detected, Medicare could stop its own scheduled payments very effectively—but that did not automatically stop secondary payers. Exactly how ND Medical’s $1.3 billion breaks down between reduced, denied, allowed, suspended and otherwise unpaid claims remains nonpublic.
Frequently Asked Questions
Did ND Medical steal $1.3 billion?
No. Prosecutors allege approximately $1.3 billion in fraudulent claims, not $1.3 billion received. The indictment says ND Medical received approximately $6.512 million during Gugava’s purported ownership period. The allegations remain unproven.
Did Medicare reject 99.5% of ND Medical’s claims?
The available evidence does not establish that. Payment suspensions can withhold money from claims that continue processing and even from claims otherwise determined payable. The indictment does not publish ND Medical’s denial-versus-suspension breakdown. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
How much did Medicare itself pay ND Medical?
The indictment alleges approximately $566,882 from Medicare. It attributes another $5,945,442 to Medicare supplemental insurers, employer-sponsored plans and other insurers.
Why could supplemental insurers still pay?
CMS’s crossover system sends Medicare claims information to participating supplemental payers. In this case, prosecutors further allege that relevant supplemental insurers were contractually obligated to reimburse certain Medicare-processed claims even if Medicare later suspended its own payment. The latter is an allegation in the indictment, not a universal rule established here for every Medigap contract. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
Did unusual ND Medical billing begin before Gugava?
NAACOS’s analysis of CMS data says ND Medical began billing its selected DME codes in Q4 2024. Prosecutors allege the company was sold to Gugava on February 18, 2025. That earlier billing is real enough to raise a chronology question, but the available evidence does not establish who was responsible for it or whether it was part of the later alleged conspiracy.
What is Gugava charged with?
One count of conspiracy to commit money laundering. He has not been convicted, and the government’s factual allegations remain allegations unless proven in court.
References and Further Reading
Court records and Justice Department materials
United States v. Erekle Gugava — September 3, 2026 Indictment — The central charging document, Case 1:26-cr-10243-NMG, Document 1. It supplies the exact ND Medical figures, alleged ownership chronology, payment-suspension statement, insurer-payment mechanism and specific financial transactions. The linked copy is hosted by Universal Hub; its docket header identifies it as the filed federal indictment. DOJ independently confirms the filing and charge.
U.S. Attorney’s Office, District of Massachusetts — Gugava Charging Announcement — DOJ’s official September 4, 2026 summary of the charge and allegations. It is useful confirmation but, as a prosecution press release, should not be treated as an adjudicated account. (Department of Justice)
United States v. Imam Nakhmatullaev et al. — Original Operation Gold Rush Indictment — DOJ-hosted primary court filing describing the alleged acquisition of existing DME companies, nominee ownership, centralized billing, beneficiary/provider identity misuse and alleged reliance on supplemental-insurer payments after CMS began suspending Medicare payments. (Department of Justice)
CMS payment and fraud-control records
CMS — 2025 National Health Care Fraud Takedown and Operation Gold Rush Figures — The strongest source for the broader payment funnel: $10.6 billion submitted, approximately $4.45 billion scheduled for Medicare payment, roughly $4.41 billion held back, about $41 million received from Medicare and about $900 million paid by supplemental insurers. These are CMS’s official enforcement figures. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
CMS — Medicare Program Integrity Manual, Chapter 8 — Authoritative CMS guidance explaining payment suspensions, including that claims may continue processing while actual funds are withheld and that denial is a distinct determination. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
CMS — DMEPOS Payment Policies — Explains why a supplier’s charge is not simply the amount Medicare pays and describes Medicare’s fee-schedule payment methodology. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
CMS — Coordination of Benefits Agreement — Describes the Medicare claims-crossover architecture through which participating insurers receive Medicare claims data to process supplemental benefits. (Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
CMS — Medicare DME, Devices & Supplies by Supplier Dataset — Public CMS supplier data separating utilization, payments and submitted charges. The latest public year is currently 2024, which is why it cannot yet provide the complete ND Medical 2025 reconciliation. (CMS Data)
CMS NPPES — ND Medical Solutions LLC, NPI 1790533503 — Official provider-registry record showing May 7, 2024 enumeration and a February 18, 2025 update naming Gugava as president. CMS cautions that NPI issuance does not establish licensing or credentialing. (NPI Registry)
Congressional claims analysis and independent corroboration
House Energy and Commerce Committee — February 3, 2026 Medicare and Medicaid Fraud Hearing — Official committee page for the hearing at which the NAACOS claims analysis was presented.
Stephen Nuckolls / NAACOS — Written Testimony and CMS VRDC DME Analysis — Reports $964 million of selected-code ND Medical billing beginning in Q4 2024 and includes code-specific Medicare allowed-amount charts. The source itself cautions that anomalous patterns do not prove fraud. NAACOS represents ACOs with potential financial exposure to attributed Medicare spending, so its policy conclusions require separate scrutiny.
Medical Clinic of Houston — Warning About Unauthorized ND Medical Claims — Independent provider-side statement reporting that patients’ Medicare benefit notices contained ND Medical charges attributed to an MCH physician who, according to the clinic, had not ordered the items. It corroborates one part of the alleged pattern but does not independently prove the larger conspiracy. (Medical Clinic of Houston)
Editorial currency note: This article reflects public records and sources reviewed through September 6, 2026. The Gugava indictment was filed only days before publication, so later court filings, insurer records, payment-recovery figures or CMS data could materially sharpen the accounting. An indictment is an allegation; Gugava is presumed innocent unless proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt. (Department of Justice)



